top of page

First Nations & Māori flags to be flown at FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™

Football Australia and New Zealand Football have received official confirmation from FIFA that their request to display all official flags of Australia, as well as the official flag of Aotearoa New Zealand and the national Māori flag, at FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ match day stadia has been approved.

This decision by FIFA means that the Australian national flag, the Australian Aboriginal flag, and the Torres Strait Islander flag will be proudly displayed at all 35 tournament matches played across Australia. Similarly, the national Māori flag, known as Tino Rangatiratanga, and the New Zealand national flag will be featured at all 29 matches in Aotearoa New Zealand.

The inclusion of all official flags is a result of a recommendation by the First Sisters of Country Whānau by Sea and Sky, the tournament’s all-woman First Nations and Māori Cultural Advisory Panel. Their goal is to establish enduring relationships and foster meaningful engagement and inclusion for all cultural touchpoints throughout the tournament.

James Johnson, CEO of Football Australia, expressed his gratitude to FIFA for supporting the joint request made by both co-host Member Associations, Football Australia and New Zealand Football. He also acknowledged the crucial role played by the Australian and New Zealand Governments in making this outcome possible.

Andrew Pragnell, CEO of New Zealand Football, recognized the significance of this decision for the tournament. He highlighted the powerful symbolism of flying the Tino Rangatiratanga flag alongside the official country flag, emphasizing the partnership between the Crown and Māori as the foundation of New Zealand.

FIFA President Gianni Infantino commended the request made by the Cultural Advisory Panel, Football Australia, and New Zealand Football, which received support from the respective Governments. He emphasized that these flags represent mutual respect, national identity, and recognition of Indigenous cultures, aligning with the spirit of NAIDOC Week in Australia and Matariki celebrations in Aotearoa New Zealand.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 Australia & New Zealand will commence on Thursday, July 20, with New Zealand facing Norway at Eden Park in Auckland, and Australia taking on the Republic of Ireland at Stadium Australia in Sydney, marking the beginning of what promises to be the biggest and most successful FIFA Women’s World Cup in history.

Read the full article here.

Photo Courtesy Football Australia

14 views0 comments


bottom of page