top of page

Indigenous All Stars Triumphant in Townsville

In Townsville, despite the wet weather conditions, the Touch Football All Stars clash unfolded into a dynamic spectacle, with the Indigenous All Stars asserting dominance over the Māori All Stars with a resounding 7 tries to 2 victory.

Key performances from Keeron Hughes and Jaymon Bob propelled the Indigenous team to control the game's tempo from the outset, capitalizing on field position advantages and exploiting handling errors from the Māori side in the inclement conditions.

Shane Frederiksen Medallist: Keeron Hughes (Indigenous All Stars) 

Contrasting last year's 10-all draw, this year's match at Queensland Country Bank Stadium showcased an assertive Indigenous side. Hughes set the tone early with a nimble try, followed by Andi Law's well-orchestrated score after concerted pressure from the Indigenous attack.

Both teams displayed defensive prowess, stifling each other's attacking endeavors throughout the first half. Jardel Bob furthered the Indigenous lead with a cleverly executed try off his brother Jaymon's assist, consolidating their advantage to 3 tries to nil at halftime.

The second half saw Jaymon Bob's continued brilliance, orchestrating a try for Keely Silva with a pinpoint pass from dummy half. Jaymon then showcased his individual skill with a mesmerizing try, navigating through the Māori defense effortlessly.

Debutant Riley Jones impressed with a skillful pass to Shameus Edwards, extending the Indigenous lead. Despite a late resurgence from the Māori side, highlighted by Kingston Lamberg and Pihuka Berryman-Duff's tries, the Indigenous All Stars sealed the win convincingly.

Keeron Hughes received the Shane Frederiksen medal for his standout performance, while Rebecca Mi Mi secured her third consecutive Bo de la Cruz medal. The victory capped off a remarkable week of cultural immersion and camp integration with the NRLW and NRL Indigenous sides, celebrating Indigenous heritage.

Bo de la Cruz Medallist: Rebecca Mi Mi (Indigenous All Stars) 

Gratitude was extended to the NRL and Māori Touch NZ for their collaboration, and fans were encouraged to catch the action on Kayo Sports for those who missed the game.

Final Score:

Indigenous All Stars 7 vs. Māori All Stars 2

Try Scorers:

Indigenous All Stars:

  • Keeron Hughes: 2

  • Andi Law: 1

  • Jardel Bob: 1

  • Keely Silva: 1

  • Jaymon Bob: 1

  • Shameus Edwards: 1

Māori All Stars:

  • Kingston Lamberg: 1

  • Pihuka Berryman-Duff: 1

Read the full article here.

Photo Courtesy NRL Touch Football

6 views0 comments


bottom of page