top of page

Indigenous Cricket Talent Shines in Selection for Historic Vanuatu Tour

Updated: Jun 9, 2023

Cricket Australia has selected the men’s and women’s National Indigenous squads for a tour to Vanuatu that will take place from May 3-10, 2023.

The men’s and women’s squads have been handpicked to play four T20 matches each against Vanuatu's national teams, a significant achievement for Indigenous cricket in Australia.

Leading the charge for the women's squad is star all-rounder and Kamilaroi woman Hannah Darlington, who will captain the young Indigenous XI, with the support of Jawoyn woman Ella Hayward. The team will also feature three newcomers who impressed selectors with their outstanding performances in the women's division at the recent National Indigenous Cricket Championships (NICC) held in Alice Springs. Waanyi Ganggalida woman Grace Abdy, Badimia woman Veronica Keen, and Wiradjuri woman Callee Black will be representing the Indigenous XI for the first time.

For the men's team, Gunditjmara man Damon Egan has been named captain with the support of Kamilaroi man Dylan McLachlan. The squad also includes Kamilaroi man Charlie Anderson, who will don the green and gold for the second time after representing Australia in a multi-format Under 19 series against England last month.

This historic tour is the first for the National Indigenous teams to Vanuatu and is made possible through the Australian Government’s PacificAus Sports partnership with Cricket Australia, with CommBank as the primary principal partner. Cricket Australia is proud to be part of this initiative that aims to promote Indigenous participation and excellence in cricket.

Both the men's and women's squads will proudly wear the Indigenous themed One-Day International kits that were designed by Kirrae Whurrong woman Aunty Fiona Clarke and Butchulla and Gubbi Gubbi woman Courtney Fewquandie. The same kits were worn by the Australian men's and women's teams in home one-day internationals in the 2022-23 season, symbolizing the unity and inclusivity of Australian cricket.

Cricket Australia’s Chief Executive Officer Nick Hockley said:

“Congratulations to those selected for the national men’s and women’s Indigenous teams for what promises to be an exciting international tour that delivers a key priority for Australian Cricket to support the growth of global cricket.

“Our thanks to the Australian Government’s PacificAus Sports partnership and to CommBank, who are providing some of the best Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander players the opportunity to represent their country and culture in the Pacific whilst developing their skills at an elite level.”

National Women’s Indigenous squad

(Name, mob, home state)

Callee Black, Wiradjuri, NSW

Carly Fuller, Bundjalung, VIC

Charlotte Toohey, WA

Christina Coulson, Kaurareg, QLD

Clodagh Ryall, Thursday Island, QLD

Ella Hayward, Jawoyn, VIC

Grace Abdy, Waanyi Ganggalida, QLD

Hannah Darlington ©, Kamilaroi, NSW

Merinda Hale, Yorta Yorta, VIC

Mikayla Hinkley, Kunja, QLD

Piper Hooke, North East Wiradjuri, NSW

Tahlia Meier, Wamba Wamba, VIC

Taleha Urszulak, Dharawal, NSW

Veronica Keen, Badimia, WA

National Men’s Indigenous squad

(Name, mob, home state)

Bailey Toseland, Taungurung, VIC

Brandon Kopper, Palawa, TAS

Brendan Smith, Dhungutti, NSW

Brock Larance, Biripi, NSW

Brynley Richards, Dharawal, NSW

Cody Hoffmeister, Palawa, WA

Charlie Anderson, Kamilaroi, NSW

Damon Egan ©, Gunditjmara, VIC

Dylan McLachlan, Kamilaroi, QLD

Kobe Ross, Kaiwalagal, NSW

Nicolas Taylor, Noongar, WA

Tyrell Sinclair, Ngarrindjeri, Yorta Yorta, SA

Tyran Liddiard, Biripi, NSW

Wade King, Ngyampaa, VIC

Read the full article here.

5 views0 comments


bottom of page