top of page

The Inspiring Achievements of the 2023 NAIDOC Award Winners

The winners of the 2023 NAIDOC Awards were proudly acknowledged by the Minister for Indigenous Australians, Linda Burney. The prestigious awards were announced during a ceremony held in Brisbane, setting the stage for the upcoming NAIDOC Week celebrations nationwide, scheduled from 2nd to 9th July. A rigorous selection process led the National NAIDOC Committee to choose the most talented finalists, ultimately honoring the following individuals with the esteemed 2023 Awards:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Aunty Dr. Naomi Mayers OAM

  • Person of the Year Award: Professor Kelvin Kong

  • Female Elder of the Year Award: Aunty Dr. Matilda House-Williams

  • Male Elder of the Year Award: William Tilmouth

  • Sportsperson of the Year Award: Donnell Wallam

  • Youth of the Year Award: Courtney Burns

  • Creative Talent Award: Rachel Perkins

  • Caring for Country and Culture Award: Lala Gutchen

  • Education Award: Bubup Wilam Aboriginal Child and Family Centre

  • Innovation Award: Daniel Motlop

Minister Burney expressed her enthusiasm for the National NAIDOC Awards ceremony in Brisbane, characterizing it as a remarkable celebration of Indigenous excellence. She underscored the significance of these awards in acknowledging and honoring the exceptional accomplishments of all the remarkable finalists and nominees. The Minister extended an invitation to all Australians to join in the spirit of NAIDOC Week, urging them to actively engage in the celebrations, regardless of their geographical location.

This year's NAIDOC Week theme, "For Our Elders," provides a valuable opportunity to pay tribute to the tireless efforts of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders. Minister Burney emphasized the importance of recognizing and appreciating the unwavering dedication of these Elders, who have worked tirelessly to amplify the voices of Indigenous peoples. She highlighted the upcoming referendum for Voice as a significant milestone in Australian history, made possible by the advocacy and activism of these esteemed individuals.

The National Indigenous Sports Foundation (NISF) also extends its heartfelt congratulations to all the recipients of the 2023 NAIDOC Awards. Recognizing their remarkable achievements and unwavering dedication, the NISF commends these winners for their outstanding commitment to advocating and promoting the rich and powerful Indigenous culture. By showcasing their talents and accomplishments, these individuals contribute to the broader recognition and appreciation of Indigenous heritage within the sporting realm and beyond. Their remarkable contributions serve as an inspiration to the entire community, reinforcing the significance of Indigenous culture and its enduring impact in the field of sports and beyond.

Read the full article here.

Photo Courtesy ABC News

14 views0 comments


bottom of page